Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library
Your Community Center for Lifelong Learning
475 Moe Road, Clifton Park, NY 12065 | (518) 371-8622

Accessing Online Databases

I get "The page cannot be displayed" when I choose a database.

Either the library's webserver that processes the request or the database website is unavailable. Please notify the library staff by phone or email if this happens.

I enter my library card number, but I get "access denied" or "invalid patron id."

Make sure that you have entered the card number correctly and with no spaces. Some databases are only available to those with a Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library card. If you are a resident of the Clifton Park-Halfmoon library district, you may come into the Library and request a new card. Please bring proof of residency.

I enter my library card and I don't get an error, but I keep going back to the "library card" screen.
I get to the database website, but I have to enter a username and password.

This is frequently caused by Internet firewall software, most commonly Norton Internet Security, blocking referring URLs. Once your barcode and PIN are verified against the SALS library card database, you are connected to a referring URL to access the selected database. The database vendor knows that you are validated for access, because you were verified by us. If your Internet firewall is blocks the referring URL, then the vendor does not know to give you access. The solution is to change the settings on your firewall to allow access to the referring URL. For users of Norton Internet Security or Norton Personal Firewall, see the Symantec Website.

The following URLs should be added to "Trusted Users":

  • referenceusa.com
  • heritagequestonline.com
  • umi.com
  • persi.heritagequestonline.com
FacebookFacebook - TeenTwitterFlickrYouTubeRSS

About Us | Hours & Location | Site Map | Privacy Policy | Contact Us

©2006-2014 Clifton Park-Halfmoon Public Library